ROMAIN BOUBERT

Trained as an engineer, Romain was a senior executive in distribution. In 2019, he wanted to devote himself to his passion for leather goods and began to sketch the outlines of the House concept. With the discovery of new materials, namely plant based leather alternatives of very high quality, the project took on its fullest meaning.

For the brand, Romain chose a name close to his heart: Maes, his mother's maiden name. Maes is also the anagram of ‘souls’ in French (âmes): a spiritual dimension that speaks to those prepared to shake things up for the good of the planet.

Beyond his commitment and desire for innovation, Romain hopes to offer women a new interpretation of Parisian elegance. Through a new encounter that brings the vision to life.


MAISON MAES FONDATEUR ROMAIN BOUBERT
MAISON MAES FONDATEURS GÉRALDINE SAQUY

GÉRALDINE SAQUY

Géraldine is an independent graphic designer, whose training ground was the demanding world of advertising, between Paris, London and Amsterdam.

Inspired by Constructivism and the Art Deco and as an admirer of work by Cassandre, Raymond Loewy and Pierre Paulin, she loves symmetry and sobriety. With her penchant for geometric shapes, she favours simplicity of lines and restraint in ornamentation. Added to which is a keen sense of detail.

Being highly sensitive to the planet’s environmental problem, her meeting with Romain in 2020 was a trigger. Géraldine sees in Maison Maes the opportunity to reconcile her ecological awareness and love of accessories, which were beginning to have trouble cohabiting.


ROMANTIC MINIMALISM

Géraldine likes to play with lines, those that will please the eye but also those that will make sense. Straight, curved or broken, each line conveys an emotion: roundness, sensuality, character or simplicity. Obsessed with proportions, she pursues her search for the right balance in each of her creations.

All the brand’s design plays with this apparent simplicity of shapes and proportions, painstakingly worked upon behind their pure, spare appearance. Linearity, symmetry, and repetition find their counterpoint in an extreme attention to detail, through to the design of jewellery pieces that adorn the bags.

The influence of Constructivism can be seen in her bag designs; the Decorative Arts are perceptible in her choice of bold details.


MAISON MAES DESIGNER GÉRALDINE SAQUY

ROMAIN BOUBERT

Ingénieur de formation, Romain est cadre dirigeant dans la distribution. En 2019, il souhaite se consacrer à la passion qu’il nourrit pour la maroquinerie et commence à dessiner les contours de la Maison. C’est la découverte de nouvelles matières d’origine végétale alternatives au cuir, de très haute qualité, qui donne tout son sens au projet.

Romain choisit pour la marque un patronyme qui lui est cher : Maes, le nom de jeune fille de sa mère. Maes, c’est aussi l’anagramme d’âmes : une dimension spirituelle qui ne peut que parler à celles qui sont prêtes à faire bouger les lignes pour le bien de la planète.

Au-delà de son engagement et de sa volonté d’innovation, Romain souhaite proposer à ces femmes une nouvelle interprétation de l’élégance parisienne. C’est une rencontre qui va lui donner forme…

MAISON MAES FONDATEUR ROMAIN BOUBERT
MAISON MAES FONDATEURS GÉRALDINE SAQUY

GÉRALDINE SAQUY

Adepte du Constructivisme et des Arts déco, formée à l’école exigeante de la publicité, Géraldine est graphiste indépendante. Elle partage son temps et ses compétences entre Paris, Londres et Amsterdam.

Admiratrice des travaux de Cassandre, Raymond Loewy ou encore Pierre Paulin, elle aime la symétrie et la sobriété. Elle a le goût des formes géométriques, privilégie la simplicité des lignes, la retenue dans l’ornementation. À quoi s’ajoute un sens aiguisé du détail.

Très sensible au problème environnemental, sa rencontre avec Romain en 2020 va être un déclic. Géraldine voit dans Maison Maes l’occasion de réconcilier sa conscience écologique et son amour pour les accessoires, qui commençaient à avoir du mal à cohabiter.

MINIMALISME ROMANTIQUE

Géraldine aime jouer avec les lignes, celles qui vont flatter l’œil mais aussi celles qui vont faire sens. Droite, courbe, cassée, chaque trait véhicule une émotion : rondeur, sensualité, caractère ou simplicité. Obsédée des proportions, elle poursuit dans chacune de ses créations la recherche d’un juste équilibre.

Tout le design de marque joue de cette apparente simplicité des formes et des proportions, très travaillées sous leur apparence d’épure. La linéarité, la symétrie, la répétition trouvent leur contrepoint dans une extrême attention portée aux détails, jusqu’au dessin des pièces de bijouterie qui ornent les sacs.

L’influence du Constructivisme se lit dans le design des sacs, celle des Arts déco est perceptible dans le choix de détails audacieux.

MAISON MAES DESIGNER GÉRALDINE SAQUY